President Ghani reinstated the woman nominated for the Supreme Court


On July 29, 2018, President Ashraf Ghani introduced Anisa Rasouli and Abdul Shukoor Mahjoor for the Supreme Court’s membership through two separate decrees. Anisa Rousli had been nominated for the same position three years ago but she was rejected by the Parliament. This is the second time she is nominated for the same position. The Supreme Court is composed of nine members appointed by the President with the approval of the Parliament. The length of the Supreme Court's term of office is three for term four years, three for a term of seven years, and three for term of ten years.